The Haunted Hamburger Food Review

The Haunted Hamburger is one of Jerome, Arizona’s many attractions for tourists. Jerome is said to be haunted, and many restaurants and other attractions use this as part of their theme, and the Haunted Hamburger is no exception. One of its T-Shirt slogans is Burgers, Brews, Boos and 100-Mile Views. As you walk in you are greeted by multiple Halloween style decorations, some just cheap stickers with others being high-quality skeletons.

These are only a small fraction of the views you’ll find in Jerome!

The biggest problem I (Connor) have with the theme was the music, it doesn’t add anything and sounds like something out of Guardians of the Galaxy. I didn’t pay much attention to the music, so I don’t know if all of the songs are like that, but it still bothers me. They also have a few TVs playing ESPN and those didn’t add anything, but unlike the music aren’t the type of thing that hurts the haunted theme that is otherwise consistent.

The Haunted Hamburger also overlooks some of the most incredible views of anywhere in Arizona, as Jerome is topped only by the Grand Canyon and maybe Sedona!

For the food itself I got a Philly Cheese Steak, which had green peppers and onions and my choice of mozzarella or cheese whiz, I chose mozzarella. At the condiments bar I added tomatoes and more onions. All of it was almost falling out of the bun, and I ate maybe a quarter of it with a fork because it all couldn’t fit.

The green peppers also tasted overpowering at times, because they seemed to be clumped together rather than spread out evenly. That was only a problem with the peppers however, for the onions, steak and cheese were all distributed well and never overpowered the other without vanishing entirely. The steak was fresh and flavorful, though it could have stood for more seasoning because it was the one ingredient that I couldn’t taste at times, usually when the green peppers were overpowering I could still taste the cheese, onions, and tomatoes but not the steak. All of the ingredients would fall out of the buns at times, and the bun itself came partly broken due to the ingredients proving too much for it to handle. Still, when everything was in the bun and the peppers weren’t overpowering it tasted excellent.

I also got a side, of which I chose fries. The fries weren’t anything special, but I don’t have any complaints about them either. The staff also continually filled my water and were extremely helpful, and given the amount of people there I’m surprised how much they could help. The only problem I had with service is the wait time. I don’t know if it’s always like this, given that it was on a holiday weekend and at lunch time, but it took 45 minutes for a table to open once I put my name down on the wait list, and then another 30 to get my food! While walking around Jerome there are plenty of places to see, which makes the wait time feel less, but there are also plenty of other restaurants and I do not believe they all have the same hour-plus wait time as the Haunted Hamburger. I should also mention that the Haunted Hamburger is expensive compared to places like In-N-Out. My Philly Cheese Steak was $12, but it is not overpriced given the size and quality of the food. I would definitely recommend the Haunted Hamburger, but it is not somewhere you should drop in on a whim as the wait time and price both make it something you should plan for.

The owners also have six locations for other restaurants and a hotel, that I am eager to visit after my experience with the Haunted Hamburger! You can find the websites for them and the Haunted Hamburger through https://thehauntedgroup.com/.

The real question isn’t if the food is actually good though, it definitely is, it’s if the restaurant is actually haunted? The owners have reported floating objects, the feeling of being watched, and strange objects in the mirrors. Read the story for yourself at https://thehauntedhamburger.com/our-story and even a more in depth version at the Haunted Hamburger itself. The only thing I saw that was haunted in any way was that our car broke down an hour later with nothing visibly wrong with it. Don’t worry though! The Haunted Hamburger is the only restaurant of theirs that may or may not be haunted…

2 thoughts on “The Haunted Hamburger Food Review

  1. Awesome review, we were at the same restaurant just this past Sunday!

    We like the food too! Next time you go, you should try the fried asparagus appatizer… It was a little pricey but definitely delicious. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment